Leaving

I am the kind of person who, despite being 20 years old, still gets my mom to accompany me to my dentist appointments because I hate going alone.  But I’m also the kind of person who loves the thrill of traveling and exploring new cities, so I spontaneously applied for a semester abroad in Copenhagen, Denmark.

My parents took me to Europe twice before, touring for a minimum of three weeks each trip.  I fell in love with the detailed architecture of Spain, the never-ending rolling hills of Austria, the friendliness in France, and how Italians value quality time with people over things.  Visiting a new country is always an incredible experience, but there was something about the way European countries constantly left me astonished and in awe that made me want to explore the entire continent.

collage

Copenhagen has never been on my bucket list – in fact, I barely knew anything about it until a few months ago.  However, my home university highly recommended it, as their courses are similar to what I study back in Canada.  After being accepted into the exchange program, I spent the entirety of last semester researching tourist attractions and Danish facts when I should have been paying attention in class (no regrets), so by the time I boarded my plane out of Canada, I was beyond excited and had a long list of places I wanted to see.  After a 15 hour travel day and coming within minutes of missing my connecting flight, I stepped out of the metro, pulling my borderline overweight suitcase behind me, and was overwhelmed at Copenhagen’s beauty.  I actually paused and did a full 360 spin as I took in the gigantic buildings and the sun shining over the canal across the street.

giselle-robert-amy-adams-patrick-dempsey-riselle-robert-giselle-enchanted-18978269-500-2101

I’ve been here for five days now, and I don’t think I’ve ever used the word “wow” so frequently.  But that seems to be the only word that even seems worthy to describe how incredible and stunning this city is.  Did I mention that I am SUCH a tourist? Every street or corner (no matter if it’s a tourist attraction or not), there I am with my water bottle tucked under my arm, a paper map with popular tourist sights circled in one hand, and my camera in the other, snapping away at whatever building or view is in front of me.  But, I mean, can you blame me?

20170127_123356

Follow me on instagram for more incredible pictures!

One thought on “Leaving

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

